Wednesday, September 08, 2004

The Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Awards for 2002-03 announced
Thru PIB

"The Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Awards for 2002-03 have been announced. The awards which have been instituted by the Department of Official Language in the Union Ministry of Home Affairs are given every year to the Ministries and Departments of the Government of India, Nationalised Banks and Financial Institutions, Public Sector Undertakings and Town Official Language Implementation Committees for promoting the use of Hindi in their official work. Cash Awards are given to the employees of the Central Government for writing original books in Hindi on the subjects relating to their official work."
"The Central Bank of India Ltd. has bagged the first prize among the National Banks and Financial Institutions. The second and third positions have gone to Union Bank of India and the Bank of Maharashtra respectively. Besides, three consolations prizes have been awarded to the Punjab National Bank, the Canara Bank and the Small Scale Industrial Development Bank of India.

"For the Town Official Language Implementation Committees, the awards have gone to the Committee of Delhi (PSUs) from ‘A’ region, Mumbai (Banks) from ‘B’ region and Bangalore (Offices) from ‘C’ region.

"The Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Awards are also given for writing original books in Hindi on various subjects pertaining to administrative domain. The first prize carries a sum of Rs.20,000/-, the second Prize Rs. 16,000/-, and the third prize Rs.10,000/-. In this category, the first prize has gone to Shri Mahendra Pandey for his book ‘Taapman Main Vridhi aur Jalwayu Parivartan’. Shri Bimal Srivastava has been adjudged for the second prize for his book ‘Adhunic Hawai Adde Aur Unki Nirman Yojana’ and Shri Shivakant Bajpayee has been adjudged for third prize for his book ‘Prarambhik Bodh Dharma- Sangh and Samaj’."