Wednesday, September 29, 2004

Microsoft unveils Windows XP for India
Thru Seattle Post-Intelligencer

"NEW DELHI -- Microsoft Corp. announced Wednesday that it would offer a low-cost, localized version of its Windows XP operating system in India to tap the large market potential in this country of 1 billion people, most of whom do not speak English.

The Windows XP Starter Edition, designed for first-time personal computer users in India's national language, Hindi, will be 'significantly cheaper' than the Windows XP, said Rajeev Kaul, managing director of Microsoft India.

Kaul, however, didn't divulge the price, saying the software would be available only through desktop manufacturers and the price decided weeks before its launch early next year. If the Hindi version works well, the company plans to offer the software in 14 other Indian languages.

"It is easy to use, and is the most affordable version of Windows so far," Kaul said of the Starter Edition, which is also being rolled out in Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and Russia."

Wednesday, September 08, 2004

The Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Awards for 2002-03 announced
Thru PIB

"The Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Awards for 2002-03 have been announced. The awards which have been instituted by the Department of Official Language in the Union Ministry of Home Affairs are given every year to the Ministries and Departments of the Government of India, Nationalised Banks and Financial Institutions, Public Sector Undertakings and Town Official Language Implementation Committees for promoting the use of Hindi in their official work. Cash Awards are given to the employees of the Central Government for writing original books in Hindi on the subjects relating to their official work."
"The Central Bank of India Ltd. has bagged the first prize among the National Banks and Financial Institutions. The second and third positions have gone to Union Bank of India and the Bank of Maharashtra respectively. Besides, three consolations prizes have been awarded to the Punjab National Bank, the Canara Bank and the Small Scale Industrial Development Bank of India.

"For the Town Official Language Implementation Committees, the awards have gone to the Committee of Delhi (PSUs) from ‘A’ region, Mumbai (Banks) from ‘B’ region and Bangalore (Offices) from ‘C’ region.

"The Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Awards are also given for writing original books in Hindi on various subjects pertaining to administrative domain. The first prize carries a sum of Rs.20,000/-, the second Prize Rs. 16,000/-, and the third prize Rs.10,000/-. In this category, the first prize has gone to Shri Mahendra Pandey for his book ‘Taapman Main Vridhi aur Jalwayu Parivartan’. Shri Bimal Srivastava has been adjudged for the second prize for his book ‘Adhunic Hawai Adde Aur Unki Nirman Yojana’ and Shri Shivakant Bajpayee has been adjudged for third prize for his book ‘Prarambhik Bodh Dharma- Sangh and Samaj’."

Tuesday, September 07, 2004

Bhartendu Harishchandra Awards-2002 announced -

"New Delhi, Sep 7 Prof Ram Mohan Pathak has been awarded the first prize in Bhartendu Harishchandra Awards-2002 for his manuscript 'Jan Madhyamon Ki Bhasha'.

Dr Om Prakash Singh bagged the second prize for his book 'Sanchar Ke Mool Sidhant'. The third prize went to Ms Ruchi Kashyap for her manusript 'Mayamrig-Bachon Par TV Vigyapanon Ka Prabhav'.

The Bhartendu Harishchandra awards are given by Information and Broadcasting Ministry to promote original writings in Hindi on journalism and mass communication. The awards will be presented by the I and B Minister S Jaipal Reddy on September 27.

Five consolation prizes go to Dr Amar Bahadur Singh and Dr Amarnath Singh for their jointly- written book 'Hindi Patrakarita aur Bhartendu Harishchandra', Mr Narendra Singh Yadav for his book 'Vigyapan Takneek Evam Siddhant', Mr Suresh Kumar for his manuscript 'Internet Patrakarita', Mr Shivanand Kamde for his manuscript 'Chhatisgarh Mein Patrakarita Ka Udbhav Evam Vikas' and Dr Deven Chandra Das for his manuscript 'Assam Ke Samachar Patra Aur Patrakarita'."

Uniform science terms - The Telegraph

"New Delhi, Sept. 6 (PTI): The Supreme Court today directed all governmental bodies, including the National Council for Educational Research and Training (NCERT), to ensure uniformity in scientific terminology used in textbooks, as recommended by a standing committee.

A bench comprising Justices Ruma Pal and Arun Kumar, while disposing of a public interest litigation filed by Matribhasha Vikas Parishad, directed all governmental education bodies to follow the terminology suggested by the standing committee on scientific and technical terminology.

The bench noted that the petitioner had brought on record several instances, which showed different Hindi translations of the same scientific expression used in textbooks.

The court said the object behind setting up of the standing committee was to avoid confusion among students by adopting a uniform scientific terminology. It was mandatory on the part of the governmental education bodies to follow the recommendations of the committee, the court added."

Dr. Meghnad Saha award for Hindi writing presented -

"Ten authors of books on different disciplines of science have received the Meghnad Saha Award for original writing in Hindi for the year 2000 to 2002. The awards were presented by Shri V.S. Ramamurthy, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology.

Congratulating the authors, Shri Ramamurthy emphasized the need for producing more qualitative books on different streams of science and technology. He said that country like India needs more and more authors for writing books on science in Hindi and other regional languages so that scientific knowledge could be extended to the young minds living in the rural areas as well.

The recipients of the Awards are: Dr. Yatish Aggarwal and Smt. Rekha Aggarwal for ‘Khile Matritwa, Gunje Kilkarian (first prize); Dr. Shiv Chandra Dubey and Dr. Ramesh Somvanshi for ‘Bher Bakriyon ke Rog Aur unka Upchar’ (Second Prize); Dr. Prem Chandra Swarankar for ‘Rogon Se Kaise Bachain’, (Third Prize); Dr. Rajnikant Tewari and Sh. Vishwamohan Tewari for ‘Upgrah Ke Bahar-Bheeter Bharat Ke Hastakshar’ (Second Prize); Shri Laxman Prasad and Sh. Vinod Kumar Mishra for ‘Sadharan Awiskaron Ki Asadharan Safaltain’ (Consolation Prize) and Shri Subhash Chandra for ‘Bharat Main Computer Kranti’ (Consolation Prize).

The award for writing books on science subjects in Hindi was initially introduced by the Department of Science & Technology in 1987 under the scheme ‘Vigyan Aur Prodyogiki Puraskar Yojana’ in the disciplines of Engineering, Physics, Chemistry and Life Science. In 1990, the scheme was renamed as “Dr. Meghnad Saha Puraskar Yojana”. "

Reliance Infocomm launches Worlds Slimmest CDMA handset at just Rs 2,999 with Hindi interface

"Dhirubhai Ambani Knowledge City, Navi Mumbai, India, September 7, (Xtvworld) -- Setting the handset market afire, India’s largest mobile service provider Reliance Infocomm has rolled out the world’s thinnest CDMA black and white handset – Samsung Slim – at an equally slim price of Rs 2,999.

Samsung Slim weighs just 80 grams has a four-line display and incorporates 30 ring tones, including 15 Indian tunes and five bells and 16 polyphonic (CMX) ring tones. The sleek phone’s dimensions are: 105x43x13 mm.

Initially presented in stunning black matt finish, the handset has a striking backlight that makes it even more attractive at nighttime. Priced at an affordable Rs 2,999, this is by far the most stylish handset available at entry level. It has English and Hindi User interface with facility to send or receive SMS in Hindi as well as store Phone Book entries, Schedules and Memos in the national language."